Every year, KUSCO has awarded 20 scholarships to graduate students exhibiting promise in the field of S&E. However, as KSEA’s annual UKC meeting, the regular venue for the award ceremony has been moved online due to the COVID-19 pandemic outbreak, KUSCO hosted its own online award ceremony on August 26 to recognize the hard work and excellence of this year’s recipients. Thirteen graduate students who were selected this year attended the online award ceremony. Each participant had the chance to meet each other, share their research interests, and learn about KUSCO’s role in facilitating the exchange of ideas among Korean S&E scholars and professional communities based in the US. KUSCO is looking forward to the chance to meet these talented young scholars next year at UKC 2021. 

Number Last First School Name Major
1 Cho Jungsang The City College of New York Chemical Engineering
2 Cho Woong Hee UT Southwestern Medical Center Cell and Molecular Biology
3 Choi Je University of Pennsylvania Materials Science and Engineering
4 KANG SA DO Penn State College of Medicine Medicine (MD degree), Biomedical Sciences (PhD degree)
5 Kim Chris LSUHSC School of Medicine Medicine
6 Kim Hyunglok University of Virginia Environmental Engineering
7 Kim Ji-Eun The Ohio State University Earth Sciences
8 KIM SEWOON University of South Carolina Civil and Environmental Engineering
9 Kim Sun Hye Georgia Institute of Technology Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering; Computational Science & Engineering
10 Kim Sunkyu University of California, Irvine Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
11 Ko Won Hee University of California, Berkeley Building Science, Technology and Sustainability
12 LEE JOONBUM The Ohio State University Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Nutrition Program
13 Lee Taeksang Purdue University Mechanical Engineering
14 LEE WOOSOL University of Florida Electrical and Computer Engineering
15 Oh Woi Sok University of Florida Agricultural and Biological Engineering
16 Oh Yongtaek Drexel University Applied Cognitive and Brain Sciences
17 Park Kwang-Won University of Massachusetts Amherst Chemistry
18 Park Shang Eun Chapman University School of Pharmacy Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Science
19 SEO DAWA Northwestern University Civil and Environmental Engineering
20 Shin Woochul Oregon State University Chemistry